Local News

MDE Announces 4th Annual “Celebration of Excellence” Tour to Recognize District Achievements

The Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) announced a schedule of visits to recognize all A districts. District leaders, school board members, teachers, students and community members will join Dr. Carey Wright, state superintendent of education, at each location.

Statewide, the number of schools and districts earning an A has more than doubled, with A-rated schools jumping from 88 to 196, and A-rated districts increasing from 14 to 31.

“Student achievement is clearly on the rise, and I want to personally congratulate everyone in these school districts on their hard work and dedication to student learning. I look forward to visiting school districts each year, and the fact that I have so many on this year’s schedule speaks to the quality of education that our students are receiving. As schools across the state improve, our students reap the rewards of an education that better prepares them to achieve their goals,” Wright said.

The visits are scheduled as follows:

10/8/19 Petal School District9:30 – 10:15 a.m.
10/8/19 Lamar County School District 11:00-11:45 a.m.
10/8/19 Poplarville Special Municipal Separate School District1:15-2:00 p.m.
10/9/19 Clinton Public School District9:00-9:45 a.m.
10/9/19 Rankin County School District10:45-11:30 a.m.
10/9/19 Madison County School District1:15-2:00 p.m.
10/11/19 Pearl Public School District9:30-10:15 a.m.
10/15/19 Enterprise School District9:00-9:45 a.m.
10/15/19 Newton County School District10:45-11:30 a.m.
10/25/19 Stone County School District11:45 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
10/28/19 Bay St. Louis-Waveland School District11:00-11:45 a.m.
10/28/19 Long Beach School District1:00-1:45 p.m.
10/31/19 Pass Christian Public School District 9:00-9:45 a.m.
10/31/19 Gulfport School District 10:45-11:30 a.m.
10/31/19 Harrison County School District1:30-2:15 p.m.
11/1/19 Ocean Springs School District9:30-10:15 a.m.
11/1/19 Jackson County School District11:15 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
11/1/19 Biloxi Public School District1:30-2:15 p.m.
11/5/19 Union County School District9:00-9:45 a.m.
11/5/19 Pontotoc City Schools 11:00-11:45 a.m.
11/5/19 New Albany Public Schools1:30-2:15 p.m.
11/6/19 Lowndes County School District10:30-11:15 a.m.
11/6/19 Amory School District1:15-2:00 p.m.
12/11/19 Alcorn School District9:00-9:45 a.m.
12/11/19 Tishomingo County Special Municipal Separate School District11:15 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
12/11/19 Booneville School District1:45-2:30 p.m.
12/12/19 Lafayette County School District9:00-9:45 a.m.
12/12/19 Oxford School District 11:00-11:45 a.m.
12/13/19 DeSoto County School District 10:30-11:15 a.m.
1/7/20Union Public School District9:45-10:30 a.m.
1/8/20Hancock County School District11:00-11:45 a.m.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s